My Bookish Ways

Interview (& Giveaway): Dave Swavely, author of Silhouette

Silhouette, Dave Swavely’s first novel in his Peacer series, just came out in November, and Dave was kind enough to answer a few of my questions! Also, we’ve got one copy of the book up for grabs, so be sure to check out the giveaway details at the end of the post!

Dave, your brand new book, Silhouette, just came out! Will you tell us a bit about it?
Silhouette is the first novel in the “Peacer” series, and it’s a futuristic action/thriller/mystery set in a post-quake San Francisco. “Peacers” are law enforcement officers with a license to kill, doing the bidding of a controversial dictator named Saul Rabin, who some see as a fascist tyrant but others as the savior of the city. Michael Ares is a protégé and assistant of Rabin, who finds out that his daughter and best friend have been brutally murdered, and begins to investigate the crime. The story takes an unusual turn when Michael discovers that all the evidence leads back to himself, and it’s full of twists and turns from there.

What inspired you to write the novel?
I’ve always loved good stories set in a different world, and especially those made more interesting by futuristic technology. And I’ve always wanted to write the kind of fiction I like to read—the kind that is not only entertaining but also thought-provoking.

When and why did you begin writing?
The first version of this novel was actually written over ten years ago (long story), and I started writing it because I had an idea for a plot twist that hadn’t been done yet, and that I thought would accommodate a lot of other interesting ideas and developments.

What are a few of your biggest literary influences?
In the same genre, my influences are early Philip K. Dick and early William Gibson, plus movies like Blade Runner and Ghost in the Shell. From other genres they would include the Bible, Dickens, Alfred Bester’s work in the 1950s, graphic novels and the TV series Firefly. I know you asked about “literary” influences, but I’m including those examples from visual media because I try to write in a “visual style” (my term) that “reads like a movie” (others have said that about my stuff).

What do you find particularly challenging while writing?
Finding the time! I have a big family and a very busy life.

If you could read one book again for the very first time, which one would it be?
The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester. Hands down.

What are you reading now?
Hegemon by Stephen Mosher, Death’s Apprentice by K.W. Jeter, The Deadhouse by Linda Fairstein, The Ultimates graphic novel by Millar and Hitch, and together with my wife I’m reading a book called Great Parents, Lousy Lovers!

When you’re not writing, how do you like to spend your free time?
Hanging with my family (especially my wife), learning and talking about Christianity and other worldviews/philosophies, watching movies and reading books like those above, playing basketball, and… taking naps!

What’s next for you?
I’m finishing Kaleidocide, the sequel to Silhouette and second book in the Peacer Series, and then I hope to write a third book if there are enough people who want to read it. I have some other series plotted, like Murder World and The Quixote Club, but we’ll see if they ever make their way to print. And in the immediate future, I plan to… take a nap! (I heard a missionary to South America say once, “There are two kinds of missionaries who have been to our country: those who take an afternoon siesta every day, and those who leave the field.”)
Keep up with Dave: Website

***GIVEAWAY DETAILS***
1. You MUST fill out the form below
2. Giveaway is for 1 copy of Silhouette by Dave Swavely to to 1 winner.
3. Giveaway is open to US addresses only
4. Must include a valid email address with your entry (no need to leave it in the comments, just include it when you fill out the rafflecopter form)
5. You must enter on or before 12/10/12
6. Giveaway book courtesy of St. Martins Press
7. Please see my Giveaway Policy.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Silhouette: A Peacer Novel

A post-quake San Francisco is ruled by a private corporation called the Bay Area Security Service. Its founder, Saul Rabin, is revered by many as the savior of the city, but by others he is feared and loathed as a fascist tyrant. And because of the cutting-edge antigravity technology being developed by his company, this controversial figure is about to become the most powerful man in the world.

To his protégé, Michael Ares, the old man is a mysterious benefactor whom he respects and admires. But when Michael’s daughter and best friend are brutally murdered, he follows a trail of evidence that leads dangerously close to home. Closer than he could ever imagine.

A future world of aerocars, net glasses, and neural cyberware provides the backdrop for this timeless tale of good and evil, revenge and love, infamy and destiny. Fans of Blade Runner and Ghost in the Shell will love this page-turner filled with thought-provoking images of dark shapes which, despite their pain and power, could never blot out the light that surrounds them.

Leave a Reply

© 2014 My Bookish Ways. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy